Happiness in Life is Made

"O, happy the soul that saw its own faults" – Rumi

Putting things into perspectives

on January 31, 2012

I cannot sleep right now mainly because I feel that I need to get whatever that I have on my mind before I retire for the night. Today has been quite a challenge to me.  Itqan refused to do his Math homework and preferred to repair his long forgotten goal post that was kept hidden for many months in our store underneath the stairs. After much negotiation  and after he failed to find sticky tape to mend the goal post, he decided to play with his bicycle. I thought: That’s it – I am going to give him a silent treatment. And that was exactly what I did when he came back from the bicycle ride.

Knowing Itqan, I knew that he would feel guilty and try to get my attention,  which he did, but I would show him that I would not budge. He still has not finished his Math. I don’t know what he was thinking when he finally sleep on the recliner, but I can tell you that this has really taken the toll on me. It is killing me inside that I was acting this way and picked a silent treatment to punish my son. I don’t know why, suddenly during that moment of me getting so upset, I remembered my dear friend who is now fighting Stage 4 cancer. I thought, would she treat her children like I did today knowing that her days are as precious as anyone can possibly think of? Would she shout and pretend that she did not mind all the attention that her children is trying to get from her?

SO, my dear self (and friends – whoever is reading me out there), whenever you have doubts about forgiving others, think again. It might be that it is you that will be forgiven the hardest for things that you know can be handled differently with TLC if only you want to take a deep breath, step back and let your love speak on your behalf – not your tongue ignited by anger.

One response to “Putting things into perspectives

  1. Winding road says:

    I know that guilty feeling well. We are human, even if as mothers, we are super-human 😉

Leave a Reply

Mimo Khair Photography

"art is life, life is art"

VICDA

Volunteer International Community Development Africa

Jenn Winter

Writer | Photographer | Traveler | Storyteller

Embracing the Mundane

to create a beautiful life

The Million-heir

Because i want to be a Millionaire

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Confessions of a Thirty-Something Mom

A candid account of the life and times of a thirty-something working mother and wife!

Malaysia Roadschooling Family

snapshots of my family life - mostly on the road.

